ironical

cause i……’m movin out

with 2 comments

(you know you wanna sing too)
duh duh duh daaaa da da da dop
duh duh duh daaaa da da da dop

Ok, that’s enough – come back from your Billy Joel sountracked trip down memory lane, and pay attention – I’m moving!

Don’t worry, it’s not out of my house or anything (although recent extended family time – and I mean that in both senses of the phrase – time with extended family, and extended time with family) could possibly bring both you and me to that logical conclusion. No, dear friends, I’m only moving in the most virtual of senses – out in the vast world of the internets.

You see, my husband, in his worldly wide webwise sort of way, gave me a Christmas present of my very own dotcom self – thedramatic.com. It’s very pretty and I like it a LOT.

The perfectionist, control-freak side of me (whatever do you mean? I hear you asking – I know, I hide that personality trait well behind the lateness and stacks of papers everywhere) wants to wait until I understand how to work all the bells and whistles and have everything set up the way I exactly the way I want it. Realistically, though, that may be sometime in the next century since at this point I can do NOT MUCH over there until Bryan helps out. And the explanations? Are mostly along the lines of if you can’t understand how to do this (whatever it is that I’m currently attempting), maybe you should get a free account at wordpress.com.

Really, that’s it. So I’ll be bugging Bryan to death for awhile. Like forever, probably. Good thing he’s used to it.

So – basically what all this means is that I have switched from wordpress.com hosted site, which is wonderful, and completely free, and which I would HIGHLY recommend to anyone who wants to try blogging out – to an independently hosted site powered by wordpress.

Just to give you an idea of my level of understanding – I had to ask Bryan how to write that last sentence. What it means to me is that I have lots more flexibility in how my site can look, and what it can do. Actually, it means that Bryan has much more flexibility, because I’m pretty sure that if I try to do anything other than post at this point, I will blow the whole thing up. Better get over there quick and have a look!

So – in closing – a few thoughts:

  • I’ve exported my whole blog over there, so if you suddenly feel the need to remember the beach or alternate uses of Windex, you can!
  • Please update your bookmarks, links, blogrolls (yes, I’m flattering myself on that one), etc…
  • Finally, get a Gravatar already, so I can see your little faces over there. C’mon, it’s free, it’s really easy, it’s free, they work EVERYWHERE, it’s free, you don’t have to have a blog to get one, and it’s free. Plus, it’s free!

Can’t wait to try it all out – see you soon!

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

January 2, 2008 at 11:24 pm

Posted in bryan, funny, life, writing

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Linkage updated and RSS feed subscribed. PS the look of the new site is awesome.

    Guy

    January 3, 2008 at 7:49 am

  2. thanks Guy!

    sarabethjones

    January 3, 2008 at 9:10 am


Leave a Reply

