ironical

ho ho hum

with 3 comments

Maybe if I just put this out there, it will get out of my head and stay out.

I’m in no mood for Christmas.

There, I said it. I’m not looking forward to it. I’m actively dreading it. I’m walking around with the sense that it is a very tall building with lots of blinking neon lights that is about to fall over on me and kill me.

A little bit of this is not surprising. Christmas is one of those enormous events in our culture that exposes, even more than normal, my complete lack of planning ahead, general organization, and whatever – the – heck – it – is – that – causes – other – people – to – get – all – those – millions – of – things – accomplished. Christmas is for the list-makers. It’s when the detail oriented among us shine, with their packages wrapped neatly, their houses decorated in a timely manner, bows tied and Christmas cards mailed…

Really, I don’t know what they’re trying to prove. Or why I want to try so desperately to keep up. I lose at this game every time. There are people out there with shopping and wrapping already done, and I’m still waffling about WHAT KIND OF POTATOES I’m making as my Thanksgiving contribution.

The bright spot, so far, has been that last week I went to the mall to see Tim Gunn (yes, the mall. He was here, in really real life, at our mall. I’ll tell you all about it later) and ended up at the Gap – which so embodies all that is retail and same and all of us need to step into our spot in the Parade of the Current Trend – and I LOVED IT. Really I’ve always loved the Gap; so much for being artsy and individualistic. But truly, I am surprised that it might end up being the source of any inspiration I may feel. That I will hopefully feel. At some point in the near future.

At any rate, it cheered me up.

Looky here:

gappy christmas

It’s Amy Poehler (and her husband, I know, he’s famous too) and Amanda Peet! But that’s not what I really love – it’s all that color. Everywhere. Like the Technicolor Fairy exploded. The inside of the store had Christmas trees decorated with stripy scarves for garland and big bright balls of yard for ornaments, and there were sweaters, and socks, and even galoshes all covered with those wonderful stripes.

crazy sweater

Crazy stripe is what they call it, and even the name feels a little appropriate right now. Mmmm.

I’m thinking maybe some of that is going to show up at my house as decorations in December. You can come by. It will either turn out really cute, or I will have some really great yarn to strangle myself with.

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

November 20, 2007 at 12:11 am

Posted in family, funny, life

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you need to go to goodwill & Dollar Tree and just buy all the scarves and mittens you can and go for it! I love it!

    jerusalem

    November 20, 2007 at 8:39 am

  2. what a great idea! i didn’t even think of that. you are one handy girl…

    sarabethjones

    November 20, 2007 at 10:20 am

  3. wow! i say go for it and this year, you’ll be the trendsetter…i really love the gap, but have never been very ‘trendy’ myself.

    berit

    November 22, 2007 at 9:03 am


Leave a Reply

