ironical

you could call it roadblog. or idrive.

with 3 comments

Man, am I ever glad I did not do this. Because I would be failing. Badly. And I hate to fail.

I really did think about it (which, by the way, you’ll hear me say often if you stick around. I like to think about doing things much more than I actually like doing them) but put off signing up until the very last minute (also a recurring theme in the life of me) and then realized on Oct. 31 that I was going camping the next day.

In a place with no computers. Or even cell phone access.

Oh well – that was the end of that!

Since we’ve been back – and it was a great trip – I’ve had a sinus infection. Literally nothing has been coming out of this head but – well – snot. Not fun to have and even less fun to share. So now we’re 10 days into November and nary a post.

And this is the one to break the silence? I hear you thinking…yes, I know…hopelessly mundane.

What I really wish is that someone would invent something that would post all the fabulous posts I make up in my head while I’m driving but that then disappear by the time I sit down at an actual computer. They’re gold, I tell you, gold! – and I can’t remember a one.

The reason I was in the car today (other than to write imaginary blog posts) was to ferry Will and his friend Ben to a birthday party. The trip began with some high class jokes – Will, spell ICAP! (go on, spell it) – and then proceeded into general birthday mayhem. I must congratulate the birthday mom, who seemed to have it all well in hand. Birthday parties usually end with me ready to retire from the public view for about a week, which is why they are so seldom thrown at the Jones’ house. Didn’t you just have a birthday last year?

Also, I simply have to mention that the best gift of the day, the one that drew excited cheers from the entire 6 year old crowd, was a remote controlled, foot-long, tarantula.

Yes, you read that right, a tarantula.

I don’t really have anything else to say about that. Wow.

We knew it was time to go when one of my young charges was peeing on a tree while the other one was climbing through a fence into an abandoned water slide. Head for the car, boys, it’s time to go!

Mommy has a post to write on the way home…

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

November 10, 2007 at 11:26 pm

Posted in family, friends, funny, life

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i actually think NaBloPoMo sounds cool. but it sounds like you had to sign up by oct. 31? i guess i’m new enough that i haven’t used up all my ideas. there are always good recipes to post. šŸ™‚

    Suzy Oakley

    November 11, 2007 at 2:19 pm

  2. i’d end up posting really bad pics from my phone, since my camera is still packed somewhere. hope it’s not in manland….
    however, i know zaccly what you mean. i do it ALL the time. and since my ginko is also packed away, i’ve forgotten any recent hopefuls….

    Millie

    November 11, 2007 at 8:38 pm

  3. when you get that ‘thing’ worked out for posting all the great blogs that happen only in your head, could you share it with ‘special sister’ over here? because i swear, i have 3-4 of them daily, only to sit down and feel like i’m failing 9th grade typing on a ibm selectric. ready…set…type ARGGGGHHH.

    the tarantula, well, its creepy. and it does skitter across the floor. but it sounds like a remote control car. which is what i tell myself when i hear it roaming about (i just don’t look down). its a big hit over here with everyone except the cat. she’s not a fan. if she grew opposable (doesn’t that look strange? i doublechecked the spelling) thumbs tomorrow she would be outtahere.

    beeps

    November 13, 2007 at 12:11 am


Leave a Reply

