ironical

fourteen

with 7 comments

He looked over at me in the gathering dusk, and said, “You know, I used to have a crush on you.”

Excuse me – used to?

I should have known then that he was going to be trouble.

He was my mother’s worst fear about me attending an out of state college: a tall, cute Texas boy. What if I never came back?

But if you know him, you know that of course he brought me back. Like always, like I know he always will. He brings me back.

He knew he wanted to marry me after we laid on the floor at my parent’s home one Christmas, long after everyone else went to bed. We looked at the Christmas lights and dreamed their colors out into the possibilities of a life, home, adventure, kids. That night, he says, I knew. A month later we were engaged.

He asked me to marry him in the front seat of his pickup truck – because I wouldn’t get out and take a walk, it was cold – and I screamed yes and honestly, I was just trying to hug him, I didn’t mean to nearly break his nose. With my elbow.

He should have known I was trouble then.

Right before we were married, he gave me a necklace, based on the words to a song:

If I had a spell of magic

I would make this enchantment for you

A burgundy heart shaped medallion

With a window that you could look through

So that when all the mirrors are angry

With your faults, and all you must do

You could peek through that heart shaped medallion

And see you from my point of view.

Fourteen years later, his point of view is still the way I most like to see myself.

Happy anniversary sweetheart – our adolescent aged marriage can get it’s learner’s permit now. Where shall we go next?

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

August 15, 2007 at 11:22 pm

Posted in bryan

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i tried really hard to come up with a charm that would work with islands in the stream.

    the dude abides

    August 16, 2007 at 1:52 am

  2. awww….happy anniversary guys! such sweet love! it’s good to remember those first days.
    thank you for sharing your lives with us.

    alison chino

    August 16, 2007 at 8:26 am

  3. you know, it’s actually the 14th, i was a day late (and a dollar short, my gramma would say..) so we share the day with mp!

    sarabethjones

    August 16, 2007 at 4:21 pm

  4. man….i was gonna say all of that in MY anniversary post. now what?
    (kidding. thanks for sharing such a sweet relationship with us. love to both of you!)

    milliej

    August 16, 2007 at 9:09 pm

  5. Hehe that’s a cute story. 🙂

    Jenny

    August 17, 2007 at 1:05 pm

  6. so where IS your anniversary post, millie? have you forgotten us? blog, millie, blog!

    SuzyO

    August 18, 2007 at 10:14 am

  7. nunh uh! no way! not forteen years!!!!!!! It was a beautiful wedding even if I saw it from the back and in the balcony. It was truly “Songs from The Loft” that day……one of the better days I’ve ever had. Happy anniversary.

    John Hicks

    August 19, 2007 at 11:22 pm


Leave a Reply

