ironical

the sound of silence

with 2 comments

My kids left yesterday for San Antonio – flying with their grandmother from here to spend a week with their grandmother from there. So far, they have had their first plane ride (technically Elizabeth has flown, but at 15 months old, so she doesn’t remember), spent the night with the cousins in a hotel, been to a place called Pizza Incredible (“It’s like Chuck E. Cheese, only better! It has bumper cars and mini-golf! Inside!”) and then spent the entire day today at Sea World, where they saw the Shamu show twice, because it’s different at night. When I talked to them tonight at 10:00 pm, they were en route to Grammy’s house, but had stopped off at IHOP to have some dinner.

Of course – I mean who wouldn’t need some nourishment after all that excitement?

I, on the other hand, have been quiet today, something that happens less and less these days. I cleaned, and read, and thought. It was good. I could feel things inside of me unknotting.

What a gift this time is, for all of us. For Bryan and I, for the Texas contingent who don’t get to hang with the Arkansas group very often, for my kids getting to go out on adventures of their own… I am amazed, and grateful to everyone involved, and giddy with possibilities.

I also feel vaguely like I’m missing an arm, or something. Bryan says, “Do you realize this is the first time in ten years you’ve been in this city without your kids?”

I don’t know what he’s talking about. Ten years ago I was in college. Or maybe high school. I’m sure of it.

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

July 23, 2007 at 11:32 pm

Posted in family, vacation

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i’m soooooooo jealous.

    i’ve been begging everyone at my house for quiet today. please, please, please be quiet.

    and yes, definitely high school.

    alison chino

    July 24, 2007 at 3:23 pm

  2. […] business and they have big fun in the kitchen). to visit friends and cousins. and i even told sb a few weeks back this very same thing, how important it is for them to have that special […]


Leave a Reply

