ironical

intrepid internet idiots

with 6 comments

Tomorrow the Jones clan will head north to the land of silver dollar and dixie stampedes. That’s right folks! We’re headed to Branson!

We’re taking this short trip as a result of our daughter’s dance competition, which is really a whole ‘nother post. Or series of posts. It might get ugly. Suffice it to say, Branson is not my first choice of destination; I tend to avoid crowds, theme parks, bad musical theme shows, crowds, traffic, outlet malls, and crowds.

However, I will concede that as theme parks go, Silver Dollar City is very fun – lots of shade and water. And it will be fun to take our kids on a big trip; they are really excited. Plus, we have to go. Because of the competition.

So, Bryan and I, confident in our internet savvy, booked our rooms through Priceline tonight – waiting until the last minute to get a good deal. We looked and considered and researched and Named! Our! Own! Price! Which was accepted! It was all very exciting.

So then we decided to check out one or two more things about our hotel – oh! I can’t believe I didn’t tell you this yet! It’s the Welk Resort. Yes, as in Lawrence Welk. With an actual show on the premises. Can you believe our luck? So while we’re on their site, I notice that, for about 5 bucks more than we paid, we could have booked through the hotel and gotten two passes to Silver Dollar City. Which cost about 50 dollars apiece.

So much for savvy.

My new plan is to throw myself on the mercy of the Welkians and hopefully they will let us change over. I won’t know until tomorrow morning, though, because when I called tonight their reservation office was closed. Probably so that the Lawrence Welk impersonators who anwer the phones can get their beauty sleep.

I’ll let you know how it goes. They do have free WiFi (which as we all know, isn’t available everywhere), so I’m sure we’ll be blogging away…

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

July 11, 2007 at 12:21 am

Posted in bryan, family, funny, life, vacation

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. a wun and a two and a ….. i’m beyond excited about this.

    the dude abides

    July 11, 2007 at 9:06 am

  2. holy cow

    Melany

    July 11, 2007 at 9:10 am

  3. Wow. Lawrence Welk. That’s a blast from childhood! Hope y’all have a great time, and that your daughter does well in the competition!

    Lisa

    July 11, 2007 at 12:28 pm

  4. Y’all are so cool. Can I hide in your suitcase and go too? Mr. Welk is a dream boat. OK, now I have said too much…

    Jerusalem

    July 11, 2007 at 8:44 pm

  5. Taylor Hicks will be performing at the Welk Resort next month… that didn’t take long.

    the dude abides

    July 17, 2007 at 1:08 am

  6. […] I posted last week about our priceline adventure, I couldn’t let go of the fact that we had missed such a GREAT DEAL! I called the Welks, and […]


Leave a Reply

