ironical

shout out

with 8 comments

So, this morning one of my friends, a terribly gifted drummer and wonderfully supportive fellow artist, tells me he thinks maybe I was a little hard on this guy. And pretty much, he’s probably right, because mostly what I wanted was to write something and be hard on someone…and what I really needed to write instead, was this.

I am losing a friend.

Two, actually. They’re married, and have three wonderful girls and a backyard with chickens. I love them both. She asks lots of questions and listens intently and does my hair better than anyone ever has.

And he – well he works in the office next door to mine.

He’s who I yell at through the wall, and show t-shirt designs to, and ask “So what do you think about this?” Together with the infamous Donna Hall, we dream, plan, create, cringe, take risks. Stare at the blank whiteboard until we’re ready to beat our heads against the wall. Celebrate when things go really well. Laugh really hard when they fall apart. I know his stories; he knows my pet peeves.

I’ve known him since he was in high school, since he interned for my husband, since I was pregnant with my first child. I have a picture of him holding her – all those tattoos next to new baby skin – and they’re wearing matching snuggy hats. Him just because, and her because he bought her one to match the one he wore.

And because I know, and have known, these things…I know that Josh and Natalie are going for good reasons, into places that will be good for them, places they will serve and love and give just like they have here.

And that’s exactly why I will miss them so much when they’re gone.

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

July 9, 2007 at 12:13 am

Posted in church, loss, relationships

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

    Melany

    July 9, 2007 at 10:45 am

  2. i’m proud of little Joshy, but sad, sad, sad to see the Carr Chronicles move to Big D.

    the dude abides

    July 9, 2007 at 8:26 pm

  3. ok…i came over here just to find the link to “natalie’s hand’s” and now i’m crying again. the snuggy hats are too much…

    alison chino

    July 10, 2007 at 8:35 am

  4. it’s one of my favorite pictures. ever!

    sarabethjones

    July 10, 2007 at 12:48 pm

  5. […] accident on saturday, and i was driven to distraction by the fact that at the end of the service, an announcement would be made regarding a family that i love dearly who would be soon leaving our church to go and […]

  6. […] how He loves, rambling so by now you’ve read the posts of my only other blog-brave pals (here and here) regarding the news of this past week –  the relocation of a great friend and the death […]

  7. i can’t even think about it!

    SuzyO

    July 13, 2007 at 9:30 pm

  8. […] accident on saturday, and i was driven to distraction by the fact that at the end of the service, an announcement would be made regarding a family that i love dearly who would be soon leaving our church to go and […]


Leave a Reply

