ironical

that’s what he said

with 4 comments

This was overheard this week by Husband Addicted to Sports of All Kinds, while listening to Sports Talk Radio, where generally the hosts talk about sports (of all kinds) and its a good idea for said hosts to not get off topic…

You know, the internets, that is just amazing. You can type in anything, like “John Wayne,” and all these responses will come up! I mean, who types all those responses in? Who has the time to do that? Is there somebody sitting at their computer loading all this stuff up there?

Bryan said “I just had to turn the radio off.” Did I mention he’s an interactive producer? The internets is his life.

I can totally sympathize. For a few years, in the blossom of my youth, I was a dancer. In an ideal world, I still would be. I would have time, talent, ability, and the body of someone without 3 children. I would dance really, really well. You would be jealous.

So a few weeks ago I was in Chicago for that arts conference, and the very last thing we saw was a production called Scribble, by the Urban Poets, who are part of Mosaic. I wish I could describe it well enough here – but there aren’t words. I’ll just have to say that it took all of the best parts of musical theater and created that magic that happens when well written words and fantastic dance and beautiful music and strong performance all come together. It was moving and funny and took my breath away – I sat on the edge of my seat the whole time. It was so good. If I can ever bring it here, I will.

Then we got on a plane, flew home, and that night I sat at the computer and tried to find out all I could about Scribble. At some point I ended up on a blog about the conference, where a guy had actually posted this comment about the performance:

I loved this! The transitions were great. There use of humor! It was one of the best presentations of art I have ever experienced.

But,

we need to be careful not to run back to our churches and put meaning on a altar.

What is it that the dancers are doing in their head while they dance?

Saying to themselves “1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4”

We must find the balance in the pursuit to reach the world.

It was three weeks ago and still all Bryan has to do to make actual flames shoot out of my head is say the 1,2,3,4 line to me. Just in case you don’t know how truly snarky I can be, here’s the thought process…

Really?

Dancers DON’T count 1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4, you idiot.

Dance is all about expressing a feeling so deep that it cannot be said with words alone, that it has to come out through your entire body…by the time a dancer performs something, they aren’t counting AT ALL.

Even when they’re learning, and they are counting, THEY DON’T COUNT 1,2,3,4.

Really – this is all you have to say? Really?

You are exactly the kind of person that makes me cringe when I tell people what I do for a living. Eight sentences and the word “altar” makes it in?

If you don’t know when to use there vs. their, you shouldn’t be allowed to type.

REALLY?!?

Did I mention that THEY DON’T COUNT?

Ok, I’ll stop now. And do some deep breathing.

5,6,7,8…

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

July 6, 2007 at 11:40 pm

Posted in art, theater

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow. I am so with you on this one. Alter? Seriously? Wow… I have no words left. Numbers? Yes! Words? No. Gestures? Perhaps…

    Jerusalem

    July 7, 2007 at 9:45 pm

  2. Oh, P.S.- I love the new blog look! Great color choices!

    Jerusalem

    July 7, 2007 at 9:45 pm

  3. In his defense, Said Husband would like to say that he doesn’t care much for baseball or competitive eating.

    the dude abides

    July 8, 2007 at 1:33 pm

  4. […] to town and their live shows are legendary. I needed to see it. As much as dance means to her , SB knows live music means just as much to me. Feeling the deep percussion of the kick drum… […]


Leave a Reply

