ironical

i’m…so…old…

with 2 comments

Oh, yes, I know. But, as my husband so kindly put it, “you haven’t posted in forever.” Thanks, honey. You know, this genius doesn’t come easy. So, let’s take a look back at a few things that happened this weekend to let me know just how old I am.

First of all, yesterday at a rehearsal, Millie and I and a few friends were talking about our blogs. Someone asked a student, a just-graduated high school senior, if he had a blog. He said, “What’s a blog?”

“Well, it’s kinda like a MySpace page, a little.” yes, I know that’s a lame explanation. I don’t think well on my feet.

“You have a MySpace page?”

“No….” because I’m old.

After that, later that same day, other people who were at said rehearsal went to see L. L. Cool J at Riverfest. No comment here, just wanted you to know. Ok, mebbe one comment – yes, I know who L.L. is. Yes, that means I’m old. I’m goin’ back to Cali…

Tonight, we went to a pool party with our kids and sat in the lounge chairs in the cool June night air. A lovely evening, really. It was funny to me though, that this is the same pool that I went to pool parties at as a child, then worked at as a lifeguard during high school and college. And now, that I am bringing my own kids back to. The joys of living in a small town. And getting old while you live there.

Oh, and the quote of the evening was: “Oh, well, we always have to take our diabetic cat to the lake.” If that’s not old people having a conversation, I don’t know what is.

Speaking of pools, did I mention that I went looking for a new swimsuit this weekend? Which is really where this whole post came from.

I’m going to go take out my teeth now and go to bed.

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

May 28, 2007 at 1:04 am

Posted in funny

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i had no idea that high school students didn’t know what blogs were…how very discouraging
    i thought they were so hip…
    of course, i also am getting old…
    and i would rather have electric shock treatments than go swimsuit shopping right now

    alison chino

    May 29, 2007 at 4:51 pm

  2. i KNOW. to both of those comments.

    sarabethjones

    May 29, 2007 at 10:33 pm


Leave a Reply

