ironical

not so idle idol

with 3 comments

Here’s something I thought I’d never say:

American Idol has renewed my faith tonight.

Let me back up – I’m not a huge American Idol fan. I used to watch it alot, but then the last couple of seasons I’ve lost interest. My kids now keep a closer tab on things than I do (although I do like that Blake Lewis). Tonight’s show, however, was different.

Tonight was “Idol Gives Back.”

I was a little leery; the show is so self-obsessed (that’s why it works, right?) that I figured an attempt at charity would come off cheesy, preachy…I don’t know. Not good. But I did get an email from one.org saying that they were involved, and Bono was going to be on the show. That was enough for me to turn it on once I got home tonight.

And I was surprised. I saw stories about illness, poverty, ignorance, emotional devastation; hopeless situations here and on the other side of the world. I saw all kinds of artists come together to support this effort to give money and aid to the poorest of the poor. My son asked me what HIV is. My daughter cried for babies that die because they can’t get to a doctor. Ellen DeGeneres challenged my kids to give a dollar themselves, and they did.

It made me remember that when we look each other in the eyes, and hear each other’s stories, we are changed. That creative people can share those stories in a way that is meaningful. That art has the ability, sometimes, to move us to be better than we are.

And that artists, for all their annoying habits and vain insecurities, are often the very people who are passionate and empathetic (and overly emotional) enough to be the first ones to get behind a cause, to jump in with everything they have, to try and change the world.

Pretty good for prime time.

Of course, there was also the duet between Celine Dion and Elvis…yikes!

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

April 25, 2007 at 10:56 pm

Posted in art, family

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I loved it too! But the Celine/Elvis thing freaked me out.

    Melany

    April 26, 2007 at 10:40 am

  2. I agree it was nice..a wake up call for me after a week of “pity partying”…when you see things like that it makes you realize how truly blessed you are…Millie gave me the link to your blog…I’m glad she did…I’ve really enjoyed it!

    Holly

    April 26, 2007 at 5:37 pm

  3. well, thanks for coming by – and for letting me know you were here!

    sarabethjones

    April 26, 2007 at 5:53 pm


Leave a Reply

