ironical

a series of unfortunate events

with 6 comments

Last night, after snapping at my husband several times (on his birthday, no less – 35!) I sighed and said, “I just feel so overwhelmed. It’s like all of this information about things that are bad for my health and/or the environment is bombarding me. I’m not out looking for it – it just keeps finding me, every time I turn on the tv, or read a magazine…”

Bryan said, “Well, it is Earth Day this weekend.”

Oh yeah. A national observance, not the entire cosmos conspiring to bring doom into my life.

So, in that vein, I’m going to try to have a more positive outlook on the things I’m learning. Instead of saying “No – we can’t eat that anymore!” I’m going to find a fun alternative. Instead of focusing on the products I can’t use anymore, I’m going to find cute new ones.

In theory, anyway. So here’s my first stab at that. I’m sharing!

From flylady, I learned about babysteps – that even though my personality wants to get it right, all at once, that what will actually work is doing one small thing at a time (like I am trying to do with this whole earth-friendly, body-healthy thing). If you have trouble being organized, keeping your house clean, managing your time, having a decent attitude about life in general – you might want to try her out. She has helped me immensely. This site explains clearly how her system works and why flylady is great for actors and creatives in general. A note: I’m all about design, and I realize that her site is, well, not all about design. Keep in mind that she is providing a time-consuming, valuable service for free and give her a little grace…

One of the biggest things I have learned from flylady is how amazing it can be to get rid of clutter in your life – and a great help to me in that area has been freecycle.org. Again, this site isn’t winning any design awards, but it’s a very practical thing they’re doing. You know how you love giving something you’re not using anymore to someone you know will really use it? Well, this is about making those connections between people. Basically, you join an email list (use the digest format if you don’t like getting a ton of email) and when you have something to give, you offer it. When you need something, you ask. Its amazing how someone does really want that stuff – and they’ll even come pick it up – and also how many times someone else has something laying around that you need. This one is such an easy thing to do for the environment (less stuff ends up in landfills!)

Also on the environmental front, I love method cleaners. They smell great, work great, and come in pretty bottles. Great design. Great website. They even have a blog – which is nice and informational, but not as fun as this one that will send you daily tips. Finally, you can buy method at Target, my favorite store!

As far as food / health goes – I switched us to natural peanut butter awhile back, basically because I read a short article (wish I could link you, but I have no idea where it is) that convinced me beyond all doubt to try and completely avoid hydrogenated and partially hydrogenated oils. It’s kind of freaky when medical people say that you can have some alcohol or fat or sugar or caffeine or almost anything, but then say there is really no amount of hydrogenated oils that are ok for you to have. You should have none. And they’re in everything. Really – look at your labels. Ok, I’m going over to the negative side now, so I’m going to change subjects. And I haven’t totally quit – I mean, I ate at Gadwall’s today. But I have made some changes…

I also switched to organic eggs awhile ago, because you can get them at Sam’s for not too much more. However, I am now switching to organic milk too, even if it is twice as much, because there was a horrifying snippet about cow hormones on TV this week.

And finally, the biggest positive thing I’ve done this week is…(drumroll please)… start a garden! We always had one growing up, and my grandmother was a terrific gardener – I’ll have to tell you about her sometime. I can’t wait for my kids to get to pick tomatoes! I can’t wait to eat them...

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

April 20, 2007 at 7:16 pm

Posted in family, healthy

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i’m so excited about the garden! definitely drumroll worthy! garden tomatoes are the best!

    yes to all small changes. i bought some method surface cleaner this week. i do love that bottle. very fun!

    here’s to small changes!

    alison chino

    April 21, 2007 at 6:48 am

  2. i hope you’ll end up being one of those friends that calls and says, “we have WAY more tomatoes than we can ever eat. let me bring some to you!” the same could ring true for cucumbers, corn, beans, peppers..not collards, though, ok? i hope your garden turns into other fun stuff. like fresh salsa. or zucchini bread. hmm…i think i’ve turned this comment into something about me, and it’s really not supposed to be. however, i also like squash.

    milliej

    April 23, 2007 at 10:58 am

  3. I get stressed out just over leaving a comment on you peoples blog thingy…but I really do like reading them. Still waiting on something about ME!

    Melany

    April 23, 2007 at 10:02 pm

  4. I want to know how the garden goes……I loved my grandmother’s garden too……………….

    Sharon

    April 23, 2007 at 11:04 pm

  5. if you figure out how to grow tomaters without having the critters eat them right before they’re ready to pick, let me know! and if you grow really good ones, i’ll buy some from you!

    p.s. melany, maybe i’ll start a blog and write something about you!

    SuzyO

    April 25, 2007 at 10:10 am

  6. Hi Sarabeth!! Golly……sure has been a while. We were in Student Foundation together way back in the good ‘ole days!! :):) I just registered in this incircle site tonight……..and found YOU!! I was excited to see someone I knew!! You look absolutely beautiful……as always!! Guess what?? I’m a Flybaby too!!……that website has been so helpful to me….. So good to hear from you! Debbie

    Debbie (Farris)Wilkes

    April 26, 2007 at 10:14 pm


Leave a Reply

