ironical

i love anne lamott

with 6 comments

Ok, I know I can be obnoxious about her, but she just does something for me.

Right now I find myself – just throughout the day – coming up with possible post titles and subjects. What will I write about later? What cute little name can I come up with for today’s post? Driving home this afternoon with my children, the title was going to be “rainy days and mondays…” Yes, I know it’s Tuesday, but rainy days always get me down – the rest is just semantics.

It was going to be a slightly depressing (dare I say, maudlin) post about the things that were depressing me, why I felt tired, even maybe slightly about some of the particular complexities that come with working in a church on the busiest Sunday of the year. And there are lots of them, complexities, I mean, but that fascinating subject is just going to have to wait for another day.

Because I remembered to go to the library today.

And they had a copy of Anne’s new book, Grace (Eventually). Yaaaaaaay!

I don’t even know how to say it – but it feels like an old, dear friend has come to visit, a friend whose stories I love. I fight between wanting to gobble the whole book down (what’s next, what’s next) and wanting it to last more than one evening long. The same way I eat ice cream, actually.

She makes me feel like I’m not alone, not the only crazy person – partly because she actually writes it down, and I think “oh, yeah – that’s it! that’s exactly it!” but also because so many other people resonate with what she writes. After all this time, she still writes what’s in her head, all the stuff I (when I’m writing) want to edit out, too self-indulgent, too just-the-same-as-always, too…whatever. She makes me laugh out loud, she makes me catch my breath, she makes me want to be a good writer. Or do her chapters as monologues. Or pretty much be just like her…

Here’s a favorite line:

It’s scary when the self divides into one being who will be more noticed and admired, and another, worried person who gapes out at the world from inside.

and another:

Sometimes I think that Jesus watches my neurotic struggles, and shakes his head and grips his forehead and starts tossing back mojitos.

Ok, that’s enough for tonight. I’m going to go have one more story with my friend before bed.

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

April 10, 2007 at 9:53 pm

Posted in anne lamott, funny, writing

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. definitely like an old friend…
    i have that same conflict between the reading it all at once and wanting to savor it. i put off way too many things yesterday reading, and then i scurried around last night finishing everything urgent so i could read just one more little bit before bed…

    alison chino

    April 11, 2007 at 5:46 am

  2. I think she’s a foul mouthed, post-punk, burnt up……..

    jones

    April 11, 2007 at 2:29 pm

  3. I think she’s a foul mouthed, post-punk, burnt up……..

    yeah, well, you’re a punk…you punk…

    sarabethjones

    April 11, 2007 at 2:49 pm

  4. i wanna blog. i feel like such a loser now….i’m gonna get me one of these neat things, so i can write about authors i love. and songs, too. and greek salads, as far as that goes. thank you for sharing. gotta go post something on allison’s now, so she won’t feel left out of the free millie-verse.

    Millie

    April 12, 2007 at 11:44 am

  5. well now you’re one of those people…. bloggers… and you oughta be … you are a writer!

    dh

    April 14, 2007 at 9:08 am

  6. I love Anne Lamott too…. And now I have discovered your blog. Oh, happy day!

    Jerusalem

    April 25, 2007 at 10:14 pm


Leave a Reply

