ironical

fear of the first post

with 2 comments

So, I’ve been setting up this blog for like, a week now, and I still haven’t posted. Why? Because, as I go through my day, I think, “I could write about this” and immediately following comes the thought, “but do I want that to be my first post?” I have a hang up (I know you’re surprised) about being profound or inspiring or extraordinary on my very first post. Actually, I may have that problem with every post. Self-involved? Yes, I know. So, I’ve decided to just go ahead with it.

My favorite, Annie Lamott, says at some point you have to quit listening to all the voices in your head and just write. Here’s to that, and to my first post – it’s not extraordinary, but it’s out there. And maybe it will be easier to get out there again soon.

Written by Sarabeth :: the dramatic

March 30, 2007 at 9:15 am

Posted in anne lamott, fear, writing

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. write several posts out on paper, than type them all up at once, than you’ll have several posts for people to read on your first day and no one well worry about which was your first

    ~EK

    EelKat

    March 30, 2007 at 10:24 pm

  2. yes…it’s so hard to figure out what to write on that first one…and actually i have the same problem…i want to be exceedingly profound on every post, which eventually, i’m afraid is going to come off as sort of contrived. anyway, i’m so excited that you’re out there!

    chinofamily

    April 1, 2007 at 4:17 pm


Leave a Reply

